2013: Year of the Super Mom!

Happy New Year!  (Better late than never, right?!)

This year my “resolution” is to be a Super Mom! 

When I was in elementary school, our local Super America gas station held a contest “Why My Mom is a Super Mom”…and I won (for obvious reasons)!  I don’t remember exactly what I wrote, but I do remember that the picture I drew looked exactly like my mom.  Anyway.  A couple key points that I made about my mom being a Super Mom were that she always drove me where I wanted to go and bought me things.  Holy shit…I’d like to apologize for thinking it was that easy, Mom! 
Having my own two darling children now, I realize how spoiled and selfish I was growing up (well, okay, it hasn’t really gotten much better as an adult).  My point is, I realize how much sacrifice my mom made for my sister and me and how much I feel like I give up for my kids.  As for my “resolution”…2013 will be the year of balance which in turn will make me a Super Mom.  There are a lot of things that I want to do and by doing them and taking care of myself, I feel like I will be a much better mom!  Or at least a well taken care of mom…

Here’s a partial list of what I’d like to do:
take naps, play outside, pedicures, date nights, shower, put down my phone, color, exercise, keep a clean house, eat better, start karate again, get massages, find a hobby, take bubble baths (without a 3 year old), read, walk our dogs, cultivate friendships, drink coffee while hot, blog, etc…

So my list is pretty silly but it’s things that I don’t take time to do right now.  My days consist of being Charlie and Cash’s slave- which I love and am so blessed to be able to stay home and do…but I often devote so much time to them (and suffer from extreme mommy guilt) that I don’t make time for myself before the day is over. 
I will find balance and I will be a good mom.  Hopefully even a Super Mom like mine some day! 

Hope your New Year is starting out fabulously!

xo-
Lindsay**

 

Leave a Reply

